Boat on a Lake

I found a faded picture of you
The creases and cracks obscured my view
It was something about that last mistake
I think you were sitting in a boat on the lake

I tried to reach out to touch your smile
You’d been there in my hand for a more than a while
I just don’t know how I made that mistake
I wish we were back in the boat on the lake

But I have something silly to prove
You have your pride and you’re not going to move
Still I wish you could see what I’m trying to find
Or get that last picture out of my mind

I found a battered Polaroid
It wasn’t that much but still it filled in the void
There’s this emptiness that wraps all around me
There’s one more puzzle that somehow confounds me

I found a faded photo of you
The grays and the white blended into a blue
You said there was something you were wanting to take
I think you were sitting in a boat on the lake

But I have something stupid to say
You and your thoughts won’t get in the way
Still I wish you could see what this all means to me
Will you take a minute and set the words free

I threw away my pictures of you
Probably not what you expect me to do
They were just too much for my heart to take
I dropped the pictures from my boat on the lake

Leave a Reply

