At the Canvas

I
There is a picture I have always wanted to paint
I practiced it in my head over and over again
I move the brush skillfully across the canvas
each stroke adding texture dimension color

II
There is a picture I have always wanted to paint
I would labor at the canvas sweating
the sweat burning my eyes
but not slowing me down
not blurring my vision
each detail getting all of my attention all of my blood
each detail capturing my very soul

III
There is a picture I have always wanted to paint
We are laughing holding hands
Your eyes sparkling – mine dancing
Your hair is up the way you know I like it
And the Gods are in their Heavens
and everything is fine

Leave a Reply

