Slowo Parola

If I only had one word – one magic declaration that would bring you on home to me
If I could light the world and illuminate your path with this word you know I would
The shame – the heartbreak – is I don’t have that word in all of the books I know
I don’t have that word in all of the words I have arranged on the pieces of paper
I don’t have one word that could clarify who I am and what I want to be to you

If I had only one word – one uncomplicated thought that I could give you tonight
If I could break down the walls of your sorrow by uttering one word you know I would
The shame – the most difficult thing to live with – is the word escapes me again
I don’t have that one word in all of the words I have read on the pages of all the books
I don’t have one word that could clarify who I am and what I need to be in your eyes

If I had only one word – one breath from my spirit into the depths of your soul
If I could lift you from the vagaries of life and gently set you down in a better place
The shame – the heartbreak – is I have run out of ways to resuscitate the tired old lines
I can’t find that word in all of the words I used to earn the things I need from this life
I can’t find that one word that might possibly clarify what I want need to say to you now

Leave a Reply

