I Caught My Reflection In The Lunchroom Window

I caught my reflection in the lunch room window
I didn’t seem to look as bad as I felt
My hair looked longer and my face looked thinner
Like the day I saw the photo of myself
And I was intimidated by the anger in my own eyes
That little fucker kept flashing the picture around
And the knots kept welling up in my stomach
Now this reflection was much more relaxed
Much of the anger was gone
Replaced by a few pounds – a few lessons
And many many miles
As I got out of view of the window
The picture dissolved into the carpet
And I stepped on it once
Before going back to work

Leave a Reply

