I do love the rain

I do love the rain
I like the feeling of the raindrops on my face
My eyelashes are diving boards sending the water cascading
In streams down my cheeks and into my mustache where some remain
Others trickle down to my lips and into my mouth

I like the hair on my head heavy with clean fresh water
Hanging in my eyes like leaves in a tropical forest a home for big black snakes

I like holding someone close to my chest
Protecting them from the lightning – protecting them from the thunder
Holding their soft shoulders and looking deeply into their eyes
And assuring them that the rain is good – the rain is wonderful
As a matter of fact – I do love the rain

Leave a Reply

