One More Social Smoke

One more social smoke by myself
While I listen to Ravel and toast the people
Who believe in my journey
Who say I won’t ever make it
Who don’t have enough money for smokes of their own

As surely as I have influenced others
Each person I have met has had some influence on me
Now the pieces come together
And I cannot see doing things any other way

One more social smoke
One more sip of top shelf stout beer
And I remember everyone I have ever met
I owe them a debt of gratitude
For their participation in the assemblage
Of the traveler who is not afraid of the journey
And I owe one cigarette
To anyone who doesn’t have enough money to buy their own

Leave a Reply

