Car Fare

Through my Chinese eyes I saw her dancing past my chair
But she was far too young and I was too far gone
All I asked for was another whiskey and maybe a cigarette
I didn’t even think I would need to stand up
But now she’s asking me questions
I can see the Trojans in her purse
I can see the Rolling Stones in her eyes
My eyes are just little sits but I can still see very clearly
I can see that the whiskey was a fickle friend tonight
I can see that the sun will burn mercilessly tomorrow
I can also see that I’m going to need car fare for a long long time

Leave a Reply

