A Friday Night in March

I was going to tell you – tonight – how much I absolutely love you
As long as you weren’t in front of me – in the room – as long as I wasn’t on display

There was no way you were going to show up tonight – but you did – you were there
I watched you watch me and you moved your lips the words I was singing

I want to tell you that each word – each note – each song – each breath – they’re yours
As long as I don’t have to be honest with myself about what you really feel about me

There is no way I can live up to the image I have created for myself – not in your eyes
I just want one chance – one moment away from the world – to show you who I am

Leave a Reply

