A Thursday Night in December

This is what it’s about – for me – she said sliding the chair across the bare wood floor
She came to a rest next to the glowing Christmas tree – the only light in the room
And the softness that draws me to her – that explains my need to be near her
Fills the warm air like the little machine that poured out steam before she turned it off

The distance that separates us now may be as close as we ever get to one another
But we have to see our connection through to some type of conclusion
For now I thank the Lord that she has come to bring harmony to a cacophonous future
That is what it is about – for me – her sliding that big chair across my heart

Leave a Reply

