She said get comfortable

She said get comfortable
But my shoes were too tight
And my heart as too big
She had to settle for sparkle
And a sweat creek along my spine
I could have loved her just then
Titled head and dime store smile
I just didn’t know who she was
I didn’t understand who she was
Up there on that old blue pillow
Way up above all of us – down below

Before too long I was released
Back to my clothes – my life – my dream
The cold air outside disagreed with the sun
The tenacious sun won the argument
I thought about the other her
The one out there on the road
And I almost got comfortable
For almost a minute – almost a whole minute

Leave a Reply

