To the Girl Next to Me at Work Last Sunday

She smelled like love from my past – from a long time ago
Not temporary or romantic love – but permanent love
She stood a few steps away to my right – there at work
She wasn’t even aware that her scent was moving through me
I loved her for not knowing her power
And I loved her for bringing it to me
I loved her for making me think of my grandmother
Which I haven’t done in too long a time
I loved her and I didn’t know her name – or if that mattered

Leave a Reply

