Michigan Breath and the True Taste of Divinity

I
Less a penumbra
More a halo
Sticky sweet moisture
And the smell of Michigan
In the summer
She lingers inches from my face
Her tongue a gentle snake
Basking in the afterglow
Of pre-dawn sexual insanity
Unfamiliar scents hang
In the crisp autumn air
I lost you in the electronics aisle
Losing myself for one shaky moment.

II
The closer I walk
Within His reach
The further I move
Toward my own divinity
Waiting for me
A lover in another room
She is waiting for me
While her taste stays on my tongue
Where I can roll it around in my mouth
The smell of Michigan
On a long summer day
I lost you to my insecurities
Losing myself without salvation

III
No less permanent
Than forever
A question lingers
Like a misty wisp of smoke
My eyes water
Was it she that chose my future
Was it me by default
Sleeping safe in my best dream
An unfamiliar promise assaults me
Hiding my morning mouth
Behind a cigarette
I’m losing you to what I’ll never know
I’m losing you to my divinity

Leave a Reply

