Downstairs at Carter’s

We’re downstairs at Carter’s and peace is on my arm
The devil wants me to play with him but he won’t call out the changes
It is a night for lovers but the music simply consumes me

And we’re downstairs at Carter’s and beauty is on my arm
Nothing as ugly as that man could survive anywhere else but here
Carter’s has become a primeval greenhouse nurturing these weeds

She feels like bourbon in the glass
She is golden on this night for lovers

And we’re downstairs at Carter’s and serenity is on my arm
The sweet sound of blissful music settles my empty stomach
I gorge myself until my full mouth is dripping her rhythm – no blues

And we’re downstairs at Carter’s and strength is on my arm
Wrapped tightly around her beauty completely aware of its own existence
The alignment of the entire universe is balanced in her delicate grasp

She is like fire in my belly
She is golden on this night for lovers

And we’re downstairs at Carter’s and love is on my arm
And she is golden on this night for lovers

Leave a Reply

