In Belmont Gardens

She said she was there to forget the one she lost last winter
She looked like she lost more since then but she couldn’t remember
I would have bought her a drink or two – but her lazy eye was making me dizzy
So I went back to the table and told a joke that wasn’t as funny as I had remembered

I come here because it is where I hang my hope on a rusty, broken hook
There is nothing for me anywhere else and at least they know my name here
I could have used another drink or two – but I couldn’t find a thick-wallet sucker
So I asked the girl serving drinks if she had some golden love – or maybe a friend for me

She smiled at me under the pale penumbra of the hazy streetlight
I didn’t care if she remembered me or thought I was her pimp or pusher
She and I danced one night and everything was electric and golden for a minute
So I went back to my old car and put on some music from when life was better for me

Leave a Reply

