Dustbowl Kansas 1930

Dustbowl Kansas 1930 gave me a sideways glance
Under the highway at the Ashland/Damen exit
The sun burned off her skin like anger
It dared me to question her choices

She resented my middle-aged paunch
She hated me for my warm bed and fresh coffee
She wanted to reach into my safety and break it

Dustbowl Kansas 1930 holds up a cardboard sign
Under the highway at the Ashland/Damen exit
The sun has burned her brown like an adobe hut
It could have been more kind – but why bother

I resent her for my insurance bills
I hate her for her freedom and her fearlessness
I want to reach into her life and get my hands dirty

Leave a Reply

